The first winner of The Mercury Prize was in 1992.

Primal Scream for Screamadelica.

Then Suede

M People.

And then Portishead for Dummy.

Badly Drawn Boy in 2000.

The xx in 2010.

Michael Kiwanuka in 2020.

The Mercury Prize.

It is the music equivalent to the Booker Prize for literature and the Turner Prize for art.

The main objectives of the Prize are to recognise and celebrate artistic achievement, provide a snapshot of the year in music and to help introduce new albums from a range of music genres to a wider audience.


Here are all the winners:

And here are the 2020 judges:

Write A Comment